5 Steps to Calculating the ROI for Animated VideosWilliam Gadea 01.24.2017
Why should you measure ROI? If you’ve already made the video, evaluating its effectiveness will help you assign marketing resources more intelligently in the future. But even if you haven’t made the video yet, calculating the ROI for animated videos will help you decide how much you should spend on it… or whether it’s worth doing at all.
There are five steps to calculating ROI. We will go through them one by one. I will include a text description, as well as a video for each step. You can choose one or the other, depending on your learning style. (Or both, if you’d like the reinforcement!)
1. Define your objective
What is your video’s goal? Try to narrow it down to a single objective. If you really can’t compress it down, at least define your most important objective.
The five most common goals we encounter are:
• Increased Sales
• Driving User Registration
• Lead Generation
• Brand Awareness
2. Decide on the Metric
How do you measure your video’s success?
The first two objectives on our list are easy. If you’re an e-commerce site looking for sales, top-line revenue is obviously a good metric. Likewise, app subscriptions are their own measuring stick.
Lead generation is easy to track too, but not an automatic. Ideally, you would pipe in your contact form into your CRM software, and see your numbers there. If you don’t use a CRM or the web-to-lead functionality isn’t available to you, then you can put a pixel on your site that will trigger a conversion event and report it to a platform such as Google Analytics.
Awareness is a tougher objective to measure. Surveying is probably the most accurate solution, but for most it’s prohibitively expensive or cumbersome. Monitoring Google searches of your brand name (or particular terms you’re interested in) is within everyone’s reach, however – as is monitoring related activity on your website. (Do people see the video and want to learn more? How much of the video is seen?)
If you are using your video as part of a formal educational effort, consider a quiz at the end of the course.
If it is a corporate culture-change video, consider measuring interest by monitoring visits to related URLs, or otherwise measuring the change of behavior you’re looking to affect.
3. Assign a Dollar Value to the Metric
Next you need to ask yourself: what is achieving the objective worth?
If it’s a sale, the additional profit on each sale is what that sale is worth to you. Remember to use your gross margin numbers, not your operating margin. Why? Because your fixed costs are fixed. Each additional sale brings you the gross margin in additional profit, not the operating margin.
If it’s user sign-ups, ask what the registration leads to. Are you hoping to point to user registrations as a way of acquiring further funding? How many users would get you how much funding, would you guess? Divide the latter by the former. If each user has advertising value, use that.
If you’re looking for lead generation, multiply your gross margin by your closing ratio – that is the dollar value of each lead.
Putting a dollar value to awareness is difficult, but a good exercise. What is brand equity worth to you – or issue awareness, if the goal is political?
As for education, you need to calculate the business value of the knowledge you’re spreading. Not so long ago we made a job safety video for a major oil company. They told us that retention in their safety courses was as low as 10%, and they hoped that our dynamic, entertaining approach would increase that retention. If we help prevent even one major injury at an oil site, those videos would easily justify their cost.
4. Compare Performance
The gold standard for evaluating the performance of your video is using an A/B test. That’s when you deliver the video to two sets of randomly assigned users.
Sometimes, however, it might not be advisable to A/ B test, perhaps because it would take too long to get statistically significant numbers, or because you simply want to take full advantage of your marketing asset right away.
When that is the case, choose two comparable periods before and after the introduction of your video. Make sure the timeframe you choose is long enough to minimize statistical noise. And if you can’t use comparable parts different years, make allowances for seasonal variations if any, or other factors. For instance, if you’ve introduced a new website along with your video, both should share credit (or blame) for the results you reap.
5. Calculate the ROI
The formula for calculating ROI is simple.
Dollar value of each metric unit x (units in after period / units in prior period) = Gained Value
(Gained Value – Video Cost) / Video Cost = ROI
Let’s make the calculation for lead generation objective videos, since that is a little more difficult than the others. We can even give you a shortcut – go to our ROI Calculator for Lead Gen Videos.
Take a hypothetical business – it’s a consultancy of some sort. Last year they received 1,000 leads, and closed 50, which means their closing ratio was 5%. They had 50 contracts, with an average value of $20,000, so their total revenue was $1,000,000. Their gross margin was 40% and their operating margin was 10%.
Then they made a video for $20,000, and the video increased their leads by 20%. That means they got an additional 200 leads.
If you multiply their gross margin by their closing ratio, they get a value of $400 for each lead. Multiply $400 by 200, and you get a total value of $80,000…in one year.
Gross Margin per Sale X Closing Ratio = Lead Value
Lead Value X (units in after period / units in prior period) = Gained Value
(Gained Value – Video Cost) / Video Cost = ROI
Is hoping for a 20% improvement in performance realistic? Your mileage may vary, but in our experience, yes.
For a long time we were a little hypocritical, urging others to put video on their home page, but not having a video of our own promoting us. Then we created Introducing IdeaRocket – which can still be seen on our home page…
Leads went up by 46%.
If you haven’t evaluated the performance of your video – do it – and if you’re on the fence about making a video, run some numbers to see if it makes sense for you.
Animated video provides measureable value for a lot more companies than currently use it – you just have to calculate your ROI.
Have fun crunching those numbers!
Latest posts by William Gadea (see all)
- Telling Your Customer’s Story - March 28, 2017
- New Kinky-Sweet-Weird Stop-motion Film by Kirsten LePore - March 23, 2017
- Reed Hastings, Netflix’s Strategy, and the Future of Branding - March 21, 2017